Prior Learning Assessment

Degree Completion for UH Part-Time Students: Non-PLA Students & PLA Students
Source: UH System Institutional Research & Analysis Office (IRAO)

Students who earn credit for college-level learning acquired outside the traditional college environment using PLA save time, money and earn degrees at a higher rate than students who do not earn credit for their prior learning.

PLA
PLA is the process through which students can earn college credit for what they already know.

Evaluating Learning
College-level learning is evaluated via multiple forms of faculty created or faculty approved assessments or methods.

Types of Assessments

  • Exams created by UH faculty
  • Standardized exams approved by UH faculty
  • Portfolio-Based Assessment
  • Evaluation of industry or military training

Visit the PLA Workspace

Prior Learning Assessment Steering Committee
AY 2015-2016


Hawaii CC Anne Chung archung@hawaii.edu
Honolulu CC Wayne S. Lewis waynel@hawaii.edu
Kapiolani CC
Prior Learning Assessment at Kap CC
John Richards johnlric@hawaii.edu
Kauai CC
Prior Learning Assessment Site
Patricia McGrath pmcgrath@hawaii.edu
Leeward CC Jeff Judd jjudd@hawaii.edu
UH Maui College Kristine Corey-Smith ksmith@hawaii.edu
Windward CC Carla Rogers crogers@hawaii.edu
UH Hilo Mahealani Jones
Faith Mishina
amyj@hawaii.edu
mishina@hawaii.edu
UH Manoa
Credit for Prior Learning Policies at UHM
Debora Halbert halbert@hawaii.edu
UH West Oahu Jacqueline Honda jn7@hawaii.edu
UH System Robert Bullen rbullen@hawaii.edu

Contact us

Send us an email

If you require an alternate format, please
contact us.

 

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.

 

Emergency Information

Campus Emergency Contacts
Hawai'i CC - (808) 854-1420
Honolulu CC - (808) 284-1270
Kapi'olani CC - (808) 734-9900
Kaua'i CC - (808) 212-2679
Leeward CC - (808) 455-0611
UH Maui - (808) 984-3255
Windward CC - (808) 235-7355