Exploratory Majors

The University of Hawai'i Community College System (UHCC) has been reviewing national trends and best practices in developing pathways for transfer students. As part of this process, the concept of "meta majors" has come to the forefront as a way to assist undecided Liberal Arts students identify a pathway that will minimize unnecessary coursework. By narrowing the Liberal Arts major into "meta majors" or exploratory majors, a student can be guided to take courses that will be needed for their eventual four-year degree.

Exploratory major pathways have already been defined in Banner, our student information system. The exploratory majors are very general and can be further refined into specific concentrations at the community college campus level within the STAR GPS system. Currently there are seven approved exploratory majors:

  • EXAH Exploratory Arts & Humanities
  • EXB Exploratory Business
  • EXHS Exploratory Health Sciences
  • EXSS Exploratory Social Sciences
  • EXED Exploratory Education
  • EXST Exploratory STEM

Workspace and Resource Documents

Contact us

Send us an email

If you require an alternate format, please
contact your campus.

For inquiries regarding Hawai'i Promise, please
contact your campus financial aid officer.


Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.


Emergency Information

Campus Emergency Contacts
Hawai'i CC - (808) 854-1420
Honolulu CC - (808) 284-1270
Kapi'olani CC - (808) 734-9900
Kaua'i CC - (808) 212-2679
Leeward CC - (808) 455-0611
UH Maui - (808) 984-3255
Windward CC - (808) 235-7355